top of page

Authentic Horchata

Updated: Jun 24, 2020

I fell in love with Mexico the first time I visited. There is so much to love about the country, including the food and the people who make it. During my second trip to Mexico, I visited a local town and tried their fresh horchata. Naturally, as someone who loves anything creamy and sweet, I loved it. Since then, I've been drinking and making horchata whenever I get the chance to. I slightly tweak the recipe each time I make it, depending on how sweet, milky or how much cinnamon I'd like in it, but this is the basic recipe you can use to try this delicious drink.

I think everyone has their own unique preferences for horchata. I mentioned above that I tweak this recipe almost every time I make it, so I suggest that you do the same. You can store it in the fridge in a jar or a pitcher, where it will be good for up to 5 days.


Ingredients

1 cinnamon stick

2 tsp. ground cinnamon, or to taste

3 tsp. vanilla extract

1/3-1/2 cups granulated sugar (or any sweetener), or to taste

1 1/3 cups uncooked basmati rice (or any long grain white rice)

4 cups water, divided in two

1/3 cup raw, unsalted, almonds sliced and/or peeled

2 cups milk (I use skim, but any fat percentage works)

** Makes 2 large mason jars


Requires

- blender

- fine mesh sieve or strainer

- large container (or multiple small containers) with fitted lids

- a pitcher or large bowl

- whisk


Directions

1. In a blender, add rice, 2 cups of water and the cinnamon stick. Blend for at least 1 minute. Then, add in almonds and remaining water (this may have to be done in multiple batches), and blend for another minute.

2. Pour the contents into the container(s) with fitted lid(s), and let rest for at least 6 hours. It can be on the countertop, it doesn't need to rest in the fridge.

3. Pour the mixture through the strainer or sieve into a large bowl or pitcher. You can use a spoon to mash the liquid through the strainer or sieve.

4. In the same large bowl or pitcher, whisk in milk, vanilla, cinnamon and sweetener. Again, this may need to be done in multiple batches. Chill in the fridge, serve over ice and stir well.

5. Enjoy!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page